AwardTape Federal LedgerU.S. Defense & DHS (FY24-26): $1.40T (10.66M actions)Latest DoW Release: Oct 27 · $4.55B (15 actions)Expiring Recompetes: 300 Contracts ($126.8B)Allied & NATO: 78 CountriesContract Records: FOIA & Source Dossiers
AwardTapeU.S. & Allied Defense Contract Intelligence

AwardTape / Contracts / FA8650-18-C-1644

FA8650-18-C-1644: $1.6M Department of the Air Force Award to Vision Systems Inc

Satellite intelligence sattel ii sbir iii. Contracting activity: FA8650 USAF AFMC AFRL PZL AFRL/PZL. Estimated completion: 2025-11-13.

$1.6M contract action / $8.3M cumulative ceiling / COMPETITION NOT STATED / 2025-11-13 completion / FA8650 FA8650 USAF AFMC AFRL PZL AFRL/PZL

1. Contract Summary & Primary Sources

Contract Number (PIID) FA8650-18-C-1644 (unhyphenated: FA865018C1644)
Prime Contractor (Awardee) Vision Systems Inc (Rhode Island)
FY2024-FY2026 Federal Defense Portfolio: $5.2M obligated across 6 contracts
Obligated Amount $1,569,000 ($1.6M)
Cumulative Face Value / Ceiling USAspending Base IDV Ceiling: $8,260,550
USAspending / FPDS Obligation History Base Record Obligated: $1,569,000 (signed 2018-02-12, latest FPDS action 2025-02-18)
Awarding Branch / Agency Department of the Air Force
Contracting Command & DoDAAC FA8650: FA8650 USAF AFMC AFRL PZL AFRL/PZL
Competition & Contract Structure COMPETITION NOT STATED · Definitive Contract / Cost-Plus-Fixed-Fee (CPFF)
Product / Service & Industry Codes PSC AC62 (R&D- Defense System: Electronics/Communication Equipment (Applied Research/Exploratory Development)) · NAICS 541715 (Research And Development In The Physical, Engineering, And Life Sciences (Except Nanotechnology And Biotechnology))
Work Locations & Funding Primary Place of Performance: Rhode Island
Estimated Completion Date 2025-11-13
Verified Primary Sources

2. Verbatim Announcement & Scope Breakdown

USAspending / FPDS Transaction Description (Contract FA865018C1644)

Satellite intelligence sattel ii sbir iii

3. Subcontractor, Supply Chain & Capture Intelligence

For Tier-2 / Tier-3 Subcontractors & Suppliers

Subcontracting & Material Supply Window

  • Prime Awardee: Vision Systems Inc
  • Delivery Runway: Active through 2025-11-13
  • Requirement Scope: Satellite intelligence sattel ii sbir iii
  • Federal Supply Class: PSC AC62 (R&D- Defense System: Electronics/Communication Equipment (Applied Research/Exploratory Development))
  • BD Action: Reference Prime Contract FA8650-18-C-1644 when contacting Vision Systems Inc Supply Chain / Small Business Liaison Officer.
For Competing Primes & Capture Managers

Buying Command & Recompete Posture

  • Buying Command: FA8650 (FA8650 USAF AFMC AFRL PZL AFRL/PZL)
  • Acquisition Method: COMPETITION NOT STATED
  • FOIA Jurisdiction: Department of the Air Force FOIA (AFLCMC / AFRL / AFSC) (Official Portal)
  • Capture Action: Request Section B CLIN ceiling structure and Section C Statement of Work below to benchmark deliverable requirements.
Tier-2 Subcontract Reporting Status (FAR 52.204-10): Prime contractors report first-tier subcontracts of $30,000 or more to the Federal Subaward Reporting System (FSRS) by the end of the month following subcontract award. Under DFARS 252.219-7003, prime awards exceeding $750,000 ($1.5M for construction) carry mandatory small-business subcontracting plans. Component and subsystem suppliers should contact Vision Systems Inc Supply Chain / Small Business Liaison referencing contract FA8650-18-C-1644.

Recent Contract Actions from Buying Office FA8650 (FA8650 USAF AFMC AFRL PZL AFRL/PZL)

Date Contract (PIID) Prime Contractor Amount Completion Scope Summary
2026-03-23 FA8650-23-C-9311 L3 Technologies $34.1M Aug 17, 2027 L3 Technologies gets $34.1M modification for Defense Experimentation Using Commercial Space Internet. Air Force Research Laboratory $14.7M o...
2025-09-30 FA8650-22-C-6441 BAE Systems Space & Mission Systems $26.4M Aug 4, 2027 BAE Systems Space & Mission Systems gets $26.4M modification for additional research within scope. Air Force Research Laboratory $753K oblig...
2025-09-26 FA8650-22-D-5400 UES $75.0M Sep 13, 2030 UES gets $75.0M modification for research and development on the Functional Responsive Experimentation for Systems. Air Force Research Labor...
2025-09-17 FA8650-21-S-6001 - $25.0M Dec 21, 2028 UES wins $25.0M contract for advanced development of operational performance technologies. AFRL $1.2M obligated now work through Dec 21, 202...

4. Underlying Contract Files (Section B Pricing & Section C Statement of Work)

Document Status: Not yet on file. The government publishes the award notice and obligation record above, but does not post the underlying Section C Statement of Work (SOW), Section B line-item pricing schedule (CLINs), or Sole-Source Justification & Approval (J&A) online.
FOIA Note: Automated FOIA drafting is disabled for FA8650-18-C-1644 (classified, intelligence or export-sensitive work description). You can contact Department of the Air Force FOIA (AFLCMC / AFRL / AFSC) directly via https://www.foia.af.mil/.