Command Search (/)DoD & DHS Obligations $1.40T FY24-26Expiring Recompetes 300 $126.8BPalantir Maven 81.6% fill $637.6M / $781.3MAnduril Enterprise $20B IDIQUS Grid Queue 107.8 GW 523 projectsSanctions & UFLPA 432 entitiesContract RecordsUpdated Oct 26, 2026
AwardTape

AwardTape / Contracts / FA8651-21-F-1031

FA8651-21-F-1031: Department of the Air Force Award to University of Dayton

Research and development for emerging fuze technologies and energetic material for munition, weapon. Contracting activity: FA8651 AFRL RAZ. Estimated completion: 2025-07-31.

$50K cumulative ceiling / COMPETITION NOT STATED / 2025-07-31 completion / FA8651 FA8651 AFRL RAZ

1. Contract Summary & Primary Sources

Contract Number (PIID) FA8651-21-F-1031 (unhyphenated: FA865121F1031) · Parent Vehicle: FA8651-20-D-0003
Prime Contractor (Awardee) University of Dayton (Ohio)
FY2024-FY2026 Federal Defense Portfolio: $553.8M obligated across 127 contracts
Obligated Amount Order-Dependent / TBD
Cumulative Face Value / Ceiling USAspending Base IDV Ceiling: $50,000
USAspending / FPDS Obligation History Base Record Obligated: $0 (signed 2021-06-28, latest FPDS action 2025-08-01) · 11 Issued Delivery/Task Order(s) totaling $23,451,744
Awarding Branch / Agency Department of the Air Force
Contracting Command & DoDAAC FA8651: FA8651 AFRL RAZ
Competition & Contract Structure COMPETITION NOT STATED · Delivery Order / Cost-Plus-Fixed-Fee (CPFF)
Product / Service & Industry Codes PSC AC12 (National Defense R&D Services; Department Of Defense - Military; Applied Research) · NAICS 541715 (Research And Development In The Physical, Engineering, And Life Sciences (Except Nanotechnology And Biotechnology))
Work Locations & Funding Primary Place of Performance: Ohio
Estimated Completion Date 2025-07-31
Verified Primary Sources

2. Verbatim Announcement & Scope Breakdown

USAspending / FPDS Transaction Description (Contract FA865121F1031)

Research and development for emerging fuze technologies and energetic material for munition, weapon

3. Subcontractor, Supply Chain & Capture Intelligence

For Tier-2 / Tier-3 Subcontractors & Suppliers

Subcontracting & Material Supply Window

  • Prime Awardee: University of Dayton
  • Delivery Runway: Active through 2025-07-31
  • Requirement Scope: Research and development for emerging fuze technologies and energetic material for munition, weapon
  • Federal Supply Class: PSC AC12 (National Defense R&D Services; Department Of Defense - Military; Applied Research)
  • BD Action: Reference Prime Contract FA8651-21-F-1031 when contacting University of Dayton Supply Chain / Small Business Liaison Officer.
For Competing Primes & Capture Managers

Buying Command & Recompete Posture

  • Buying Command: FA8651 (FA8651 AFRL RAZ)
  • Acquisition Method: COMPETITION NOT STATED
  • FOIA Jurisdiction: Department of the Air Force FOIA (AFLCMC / AFRL / AFSC) (Official Portal)
  • Capture Action: Request Section B CLIN ceiling structure and Section C Statement of Work below to benchmark deliverable requirements.

Issued Task & Delivery Orders under FA8651-21-F-1031 (11 shown, $23.5M obligated)

Order PIID Obligated Awardee Start / Latest Action End Date Order Scope
FA865124FB013 $12.4M University of Dayton 2024-03-15 / 2026-05-14 2027-03-15 Classical-quantum hybrid constructs to advance weapons systems
FA865124FB039 $9.1M University of Dayton 2024-07-23 / 2026-03-05 2027-07-23 Development energetic materials (herd) this time and material task order has a ceiling not to exceed $9,864, 889 if additional funds come available.
FA865124FB058 $1.1M University of Dayton 2024-09-04 / 2025-09-22 2025-12-04 Additive manufacturing (am) of electronics for munitions
FA865123FA029 $401K University of Dayton 2023-09-20 / 2024-09-28 2027-09-20 Research and development for emerging fuze technologies and energetic material for munitions.
FA865120F1024 $320K University of Dayton 2020-06-11 / 2025-08-01 2025-06-11 Research and development for emerging fuze technologies and energetic material for munitions
FA865120F1026 $89K University of Dayton 2020-09-03 / 2025-08-01 2025-09-03 Research and development for emerging fuze technologies and energetic material for munitions
FA865120F1006 $139 University of Dayton 2020-06-11 / 2025-08-15 2025-06-11 Research and development for emerging fuze technologies and energetic material for munitions
FA865120F1007 $0 University of Dayton 2020-06-25 / 2025-08-01 2025-06-23 Research and development for emerging fuze technologies and energetic material for munitions
FA865120F1028 $0 University of Dayton 2020-09-01 / 2025-08-01 2025-09-03 Research and development for emerging fuze technologies and energetic material for munitions
FA865121F1029 $0 University of Dayton 2021-02-11 / 2025-08-01 2025-07-14 Research and development for emerging fuze technologies and energetic material for munitions
FA865123FA030 -$30K University of Dayton 2023-09-19 / 2024-08-28 2024-09-19 Research and development for emerging fuze technologies and energetic materials for munitions
Tier-2 Subcontract Reporting Status (FAR 52.204-10): Prime contractors report first-tier subcontracts of $30,000 or more to the Federal Subaward Reporting System (FSRS) by the end of the month following subcontract award. Under DFARS 252.219-7003, prime awards exceeding $750,000 ($1.5M for construction) carry mandatory small-business subcontracting plans. Component and subsystem suppliers should contact University of Dayton Supply Chain / Small Business Liaison referencing contract FA8651-21-F-1031.

Recent Contract Actions from Buying Office FA8651 (FA8651 AFRL RAZ)

Date Contract (PIID) Prime Contractor Amount Completion Scope Summary
2026-09-25 FA8651-25-C-B019 Nokomis $5.1M Dec 31, 2027 Nokomis gets $5.1M modification for Hiawatha System in Package Radio Frequency sensor enhancement. Air Force Research Laboratory $5.1M oblig...
2026-08-14 FA8651-22-S-0001 Leidos $20.0M Aug 14, 2031 Leidos wins $20.0M contract for advanced research for munition readiness. Air Force Research Laboratory work through Aug 14, 2031.

Other Recent Department of War Awards to University of Dayton

Date Contract (PIID) Branch Amount Completion Scope Summary
2026-03-12 FA8684-26-D-B001 Air Force $850.0M Mar 15, 2033 University of Dayton Research Institute wins $850.0M contract for rapid operational capabilities and manufacturing for optimized readiness. ...

4. Underlying Contract Files (Section B Pricing & Section C Statement of Work)

Document Status: Not yet on file. The government publishes the award notice and obligation record above, but does not post the underlying Section C Statement of Work (SOW), Section B line-item pricing schedule (CLINs), or Sole-Source Justification & Approval (J&A) online.
Free DIY 5 U.S.C. 552 Generator ($0 Cost)

Pre-Filled FOIA Request Letter for FA8651-21-F-1031

Routed to Department of the Air Force FOIA (AFLCMC / AFRL / AFSC) · Official Agency FOIA Portal ↗

Open Agency FOIA Portal ↗
Optional Anonymous Filing via AwardTape Research: Prefer to keep your company name off the agency's public FOIA log? Enter your work email and AwardTape will track or file this request under AwardTape Research and email you when the agency responds.